Download The Geologic Time Scale GSA, Latest Version

The geological time scale 2023 is the most recent version of the geological time scale, which is a hierarchical system used to group and classify rock strata based on their relative age. The geological time scale divides Earth's history into four eons: Hadean, Archean, Proterozoic, and Phanerozoic. The Phanerozoic Eon is further divided into three eras: Paleozoic, Mesozoic, and Cenozoic.

The geologic time scale is the “calendar” for events in earth history. It subdivides all time into named units of abstract time called—in descending order of duration—eons, eras, periods, epochs, and ages.

The Geologic Time Scale GSA , Latest Version
Download The Geologic Time Scale GSA, Latest Version

Geologic time, the extensive interval of time occupied by the geologic history of earth. Formal geologic time begins at the start of the archean eon (4.0 billion to 2.5 billion years ago) and continues to the present day. Modern geologic time scales additionally often include the hadean eon, which is an informal interval that extends from about 4.6 billion years ago (corresponding to earth’s initial formation) to 4.0 billion years ago. Geologic time is, in effect, that segment of earth history that is represented by and recorded in the planet’s rock strata. Read more here.

Latest Chart version in PDF or JPG.


  • Spanish (v2022/02: PDF or JPG)
  • Portuguese (v2022/02: PDF or JPG)
  • Italian (v2022/02: PDF or JPG)
  • Japanese (v2022/10: PDF or JPG)
  • Korean (v2022/10: PDF or JPG)
  • French (v2022/10: PDF or JPG)
  • Netherlands Dutch (v2022/10: PDF or JPG)
  • Belgium Dutch (v2022/10: PDF or JPG)
  • Catalan (v2022/02: PDF or JPG)
  • German (v2022/02: PDF or JPG)
  • American Spanish (v2022/02: PDF or JPG)
  • Chinese (v2021/10: PDF or JPG)
  • Czech (v2021/10: PDF or JPG)
  • Slovak (v2021/10: PDF or JPG)
  • Finnish (v2021/05: PDF or JPG)
  • Hungarian (v2021/05: PDF or JPG)
  • Norwegian (v2021/05: PDF or JPG)
  • Turkish (v2018/08: PDF or JPG)



Next Post Previous Post